Jumper: Tegan Powell

Town: Canmore, Alberta

Quote: “Go Outside & Get Rad!”

About Tegan: My name is Tegan Powell, I am 21 years old, and currently live in Canmore, Alberta. For the past 4 years, I lived in Squamish British Columbia, where I studied Outdoor Education and Wilderness Therapy. Moving to Squamish, I had no idea what doors would open up for me. I had always enjoyed hiking and biking and skiing, but it wasn’t until I was living literally in the mountains, that I truly understood how passionate I was about the outdoors.

I realize that a huge part of what got me exploring and pushing myself, was the people that I was surrounded with. Being a female, it can be extremely challenging to feel safe to try new things, especially when you have never tried them before. I find myself being constantly inspired by SheJumps, whether it is by going outside every day or organizing and hosting my own all-female events, such as an annual Get the Girls Out day at Whistler Blackcomb.

Tegan Powell 3

I have also been fortunate enough to be a part of Girls Do Ski, as well as the IF3 All Girls event, and have experienced the power of an all-female community first hand. All of these experiences only stoke this burning fire that I have for living my life to the fullest, and constantly being inspired by my own actions as well as the people surrounding me. I would love to be able to meet other females of like mind, and help girls like me to discover themselves and feel comfortable to try new things! SheJumps is such an amazing, and special organization, and I love being part of a community that shares such common aspirations and goals as mine.

Tegan Powell 2